Do I Know You?

Posted: January 5, 2010 in Poetry
Tags:

The scary part about doing a blog like this, tracking my poetry from the start, is that the last four years has involved a lot of growth as a poet. Some of the early stuff… well, it is what it is. It isn’t what I would write today, in content, style, voice etc…. but isn’t that the point.

CONTEXT:

Written January, 2006

I had just gone to my first (Capital) slam and was blown away by the amazing talent on stage. The piece that stood out the most for me was ‘Coffee Bean’ by the host, John Akpata. However, there was also a situation where I felt that somebody (ahem) took one look at me and decided they knew who I was (spectacularily wrongly, by the way), and my first poem was born.
A little whiney, but hey.

    Do I Know You?

Do you know me?
What do you see?
Middle-aged
Middle-class white guy

Do you know me?
Too much around the middle
Not enough left on top

Do you know me?
Is what you see who I am?

Do you know me?
Do you see my heart?
Do you see my dreams?
Do you see my soul?

Do you know me?
Do you see a kid
So afraid of failure
That he won’t go play ball
With the other kids?

Do you know me?
Do you see the proclaimed genius
Or do you see the man
Who forgets his own phone number
And it makes him scared

Do you know me?
Do you see the writer
Too scared to write
And too scared not to

Do you know me?
Do you see a man
With a wife, a dog,
Two cats, a house,
A mortgage, car payments,
Student loan and credit card debt?

Do you know me?
Do you see all of those things
And know who I am?

Do you know me?
If you do
Please
Let me know
So then I can know you, too

Leave a Reply

