Love Poem

Posted: January 27, 2010 in Poetry
Tags:

We are getting into stuff I slammed back in my first year.

Reminder, the last of the the Ingredients, the slam workshop held by the Recipe (of which, I am a member…) is tonight. 7pm at Umi Cafe.

CONTEXT: November, 2006

I’m not very good at love poetry. If I just say what I feel, it comes out all icky-sweet schmaltzy.This poem worked at the time, though, because I kept it a secret and when I got to the part about Victoria, Ruthanne actually cheered.
I actually wrote this the way it came out. I decided to do the swerve and make the poem about Victoria but as I wrote it, I kept coming back to Ruthanne connnections, so I went with it.

When I performed in Victoria this past November I considered busting this out, but I didn’t. It is just a little… not up to my current work, in my opinion.

    Love Poem

This is a love poem
But it’s not for my wife
Even though she is the love of my life
This is a love poem
But it’s not for a girl
Even though they used to leave my head in a whirl
This is a love poem
No, not for a guy
That’s just not where my interests lie
This is a love poem
For Victoria, my home city
Nowhere in the world is near so pretty
From the Inner Harbour to Goldstream Park
To the lights on the legislature
Dispelling the dark
This is a love poem
For the flower-filled welcome sign
To the college walls, festooned with vines
This is a love poem
For touristy Government Street
And the Mustard Seed, where the homeless eat
This is a love poem
To the old folks in James Bay
And the navy guys, down Esquimalt way
This is a love poem
For the ocean view at Zero Mile
And the west coast boys kicking it B.C. style
This is a love poem
To that blue-grey sea
And white-capped mountain range
And the tall evergreens
And ‘every-so-often’ – rain
This is a love poem
To the totem poles, higher than steeples
And for the Songhees and the Salish peoples
This is a love poem
To the loggers and fishermen
Part of my blood since way back when
This is a love poem
For old Hatley Castle
Site of Hollywood’s X-Men battles
(And an aside to you movie buffs,
I once sat where Halle Berry’s ass was)
This is a love poem
For my mom & dad & sister & nieces
They all know I miss them to pieces
This is a love poem
For that old church hall
Where I first heard Ruthanne’s name called
This is a love poem
For that night, ten years later
When we first kissed, in my parent’s trailer
This is a love poem
For a jetty on Swan Lake
Where she agreed, my hand to take
Through laughs and pain
Through ease and strain
Friends and lovers to the end
My love for her will not bend

Well, this was supposed to my a love poem for Victoria
But it seems I lied to you all
And this is a love poem for my wife, after all

““““““““““““

Next is a poem that I remmber enjoying performing…but then never did it again. I wonder why…

Comments
  1. […] it sounds like I’m complaining. I’m not. Frankly, I’m fascinated by it all. I love watching my kids play hockey. But it’s part of my make up to analyze and discuss just about […]

Leave a Reply

