Life

Posted: February 2, 2010 in Poetry
Tags:

CONTEXT: January, 2007

I wrote this piece for my friend Rob Bellefeuille, who was suffering from cancer. To understand the situation, I was led to believe that the doctors were close to giving up. This was his last shot at chemo in overdrive and if it didn’t help…well…

The best they were hoping for was enough of a shift that they could operate.

Instead he got the big R – remission. Suddenly the world looks a little different. Since then the wife of another friend died from cancer so that spectre never really leaves.

When I wrote this, Rob was at his worst, before things (miraculously?) got better.

    Life

I’ve got home
I’ve got clothes
I’ve got food to eat
I’ve got friends
I’ve got art to make me complete
I come home every night to a wonderful wife
More than all that, I’ve got life

I’ve got home
I’ve got clothes
I’ve got food to eat
I’ve got friends
I’ve got art to make me complete
I come home every night to a wonderful wife
More than all that, I’ve got life

I have some complaints
About how things have gone.
I’m mad at the fates’
Plan for my mama’s son.
Where is my wealth?
Where is my fame?
I’ve troubles with health
Who can I blame?
Nobody has it worse.
This world is a curse.
What have I got?

I’ve got home
I’ve got clothes
I’ve got food to eat
I’ve got friends
I’ve got art to make me complete
I come home every night to a wonderful wife
More than all that, I’ve got life

While I whine for respect
People struggle with much less –
Sleeping over a sidewalk grate,
Hungry over an empty plate.
In a land of plenty, doing without
Things seems simpler, no doubt.
But at the same time, more complicated
As the words ‘about’ and ‘for’ are debated.
They have nothing and what have I got?

I’ve got home
I’ve got clothes
I’ve got food to eat
I’ve got friends
I’ve got art to make me complete
I come home every night to a wonderful wife
More than all that, I’ve got life

My friend Rob is in his early 20’s
One more number in this land of plenty.
Plenty means nothing as he loses his hair
Due to the chemo and hospital care.
When other guys are dreaming of cars and girls
Rob holds hope for some sort of cure.
He got dealt a real bad hand
But he holds his head up and makes a stand.

He doesn’t whimper. He doesn’t cry.
He doesn’t ask ‘Why lord, why?’
Even if the cancer doesn’t go away
He knows how to LIVE every day.
So learn from me as I learned from Rob…
What have I got?

I’ve got home
I’ve got clothes
I’ve got food to eat
I’ve got friends
I’ve got art to make me complete
I come home every night to a wonderful wife
More than all that, I’ve got life

I’ve got home
I’ve got clothes
I’ve got food to eat
I’ve got friends
I’ve got art to make me complete
I come home every night to a wonderful wife
More than all that, I’ve got life

I’ve got home
I’ve got clothes
I’ve got food to eat
I’ve got friends
I’ve got art to make me complete
I come home every night to a wonderful wife
More than all that…

“““““““““`
Next up is another Object of Desire poem…

Comments
  1. […] I performed it, I paired it with Life and came second… still missing that first ever win. […]

Leave a Reply

