I Said I Wouldn’t

Posted: April 1, 2010 in Poetry
Tags:

So my hits here have plummeted. I wonder why?

I guess I got boring. 🙂

CONTEXT: October, 2008

This poem was one of my attempts to write a one minute poem for Bill Brown. Short poems are not my specialty.

A while back I went through a phase where I mentioned Ruthanne in a lot of poems. She mentioned it and I stopped.

This is my ‘return’ to writing about Ruthanne. 🙂

    I Said I Wouldn’t

I said I wouldn’t write about
How my world changed
The day you walked through the door,
How the clouds seemed to part
With a shaft of sunlight
Hitting the ground
Like in one of those bible movies.

I said I wouldn’t write about
The way your smile
Can help the day slip away
And remind me what’s really important.

I said I wouldn’t write about
The cracks that spider-web
Through my heart
Whenever I see your tears
Or the anger I feel at the world
Whenever I see it doing you wrong.

I said I wouldn’t write about
The way a certain look from you
Can light the hairs on my feet on fire,
Bend my arms back, unclench my jaw
And liquefy my brain.

I said I wouldn’t write about
How you put up with my fat, snoring,
Hairy, balding, insecure ass
Without complaint.
Well, without too much complaint.

I said I wouldn’t write about
What my heart knows
And my brain knows
And my soul knows.

I said I wouldn’t write about
How much I love you.

So I won’t.

““““““““““

Next is the poetry version of the greatest thing I ever got out of poetry.

Comments
  1. nadinethornhill says:

    I said I wouldn’t cry on a beautiful spring day. But I read this poem. Then I did.

  2. Tammy MacKenzie says:

    Rusty, you could never be boring!

    I like how you don’t write about how much you love Ruthanne 😀
    xo

Leave a Reply

