Trigger Warnings

Posted: May 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

I have seen the use of trigger warnings and I respect them… but I have never actually experienced that sort of trigger.

I have friends who have, from various things, but not me.

I guess I have been a champion ‘bottler-upper’.

This morning, however, I nearly started crying while waiting for a bus at Hurdman Station. (Well, nearly may be an overstatement, but the potential was certainly there.)

Why?

The headline on today’s Ottawa Metro. Here is the article, but the headline on the paper is different. On the paper it says: “High alert: Teen stalking kids” followed by a sub-header that said “A third family says girls approached by teen who wanted kids to go into forest area”

It was the mention of the forest that hit me.

That never used to happen. Ever. Before this. I considered it a big breakthrough that I was able to acknowledge it and deal with it. I even felt I might have helped other people.

Right now I don’t know if it was worth it.

Comments
  1. nadinethornhill says:

    I think there are two types of triggers. There are the ones that are directly, overtly related to whatever trauma you’ve experienced. The one’s you can see clear as day. You know where they are and you become adept at avoiding them at all costs.

    The other kind come out of fucking nowhere. Landmines disguised as random events, comments, sights, even smells. I hate those triggers because there’s no opportunity to get your armour on before they hit you. You don’t stand a chance.

    You’ve helped me. I understand if it wasn’t worth it but I will always love you for that and for all the great things that make you you.

Leave a Reply

