Capital Slam – July – A Rusty Perspective

Posted: July 10, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags:

Last night was the first Summer Capital Slam – the first post Finals CapSlam, in other words.

I have written a full recap of the show here. I encourage you all to go and read it.

I’ll wait.

Back? Okay.

For me the show was a typical summer show… in other words there is a little edge off because it isn’t part of the regular season, and part of my job is keeping track of the standings etc. However, the lower turn-out also means that I will need to be on my toes to make sure we have enough people for all the different jobs etc. Brad was going to host and Ruthanne (bless her) was running the door etc. Prufrock couldn’t be there as he was a special guest judge down at the Speak Out Youth Slam. THat meant I was going to be DJ.

If you read my blog you know that I like to ‘DJ’ (not a REAL DJ, but I play some tunes), but the mix I like to throw down is different from what I would play at a CapSlam show. I’ll include my playlist below. A little different than what you normally see here.

Anyway, I had to recruit Brad to be judge finder and sac poet (while also being host)… yeah, summer shows are like that sometimes.

I drew second in the first round, right after Rage. My luck on the draw lately has been pretty poor. I performed Moving to Arizona, and it went over really well! I scored a solid 28.5. I HAD been planning to do The Fifth Beatle, but the vibe wasn’t right. I needed to notch up the energy.

Then score creep set in… and some great poems! So I was sitting in fourth, without much chance of bridging the gap to win. Since this one wasn’t for the standings, my placement didn’t matter (and I am HOPING to have this attitude more often this year anyway), so I just did what I wanted and dropped the Fifth Beatle. The new rules hurt me a little because based on last year’s rules I would have gone up last and instead the random draw put me up second again… regardless, the poem didn’t come as strong as the first round, and I actually got he lowest marks of the second round. C’est la vie. 🙂

I still finished in fourth over all:

1. Loh El
2. Mia Morgan (NEW POET!! – unfortunately she is moving away in the fall. I have encouraged her to go check out the slam in Kitchener)
3. ArRay-of-WoRds
4. Rusty Priske
5. Rastabula (am I crazy, or does he perform better at CapSlam than he does at OYPS?)
6. Vanessa Baker
7. Rage
8. Hannah Christie

I have to be prepared for the August Slam… what should I perform? Suggestions?

Comments
  1. […] Rusty has done a Slam mini-recap from his perspective over at Rusty the Poet. […]

  2. […] first appeared on a Capital Slam Stage in the Summer of 2011, and she made a splash right away! At first we heard that her first couple of slams were going to […]

Leave a Reply

