Slam Makes Everything Better

Posted: October 8, 2013 in Uncategorized

So, it has been a tough couple of weeks. I don’t want to get into it too much, but the short version is that the Slam Team voted to remove a member from the team.

The whole thing just sucks. I had been proud that such actions hadn’t happened in Ottawa in the thime I have been involved and now, not only did it happen, but I was right in the middle of it.

It was eating at me. While I believed that we were right to make the decision that we did, it does not mean – in any way – that I was happy about it. In addition, some community members whose opinions I value were very angry and vocal in that anger.

So, I have been going through my life CONVINCED that I had become public enemy #1 in the poetry community in Ottawa.

Then came CapSlam this past Saturday. I saw people. I saw people I thought were mad. I saw people whose opinions concerned me.

And nothing happened.

This does NOT mean there aren’t people who disagree with what we did, but it seems that we are able to continue on. That’s good. It makes me feel a little better.

I hope that the poet who we removed from the team will also feel happy in the community. If I could have one wish right now, I suppose it is that.

““““““““`

The slam was fun. John Akpata was a great feature. He got Nathanael to play guitar on a couple of pieces. Very entertaining.

PrufRock is off on tour with C.R. Avery so I was the fill-in DJ. I always enjoy doing that.

I also slammed. I was thinking of doing Heaven in the first round. It fit my mood. But I know that it doesn’t score well (poets like it, but the references often fly past the judges), and the sign-up list was HOT and I wanted to be part of that, so I dropped Angst instead.

I jsut squeaked into the second round, tied in fifth, so I went ahead and dropped Heaven anyway… and was right. Poets liked it. It didn’t score well. 🙂 I came in sixth.

I brand new poet won, despite the heavy hitters in the slam. That was cool. Watch out for P-RIME.

The next CapSlam (Oct. 19th) has the team as features. That should be fun.

Leave a Reply

