For Rusty

Posted: March 1, 2015 in Uncategorized

This is a poem post, but it isn’t a poem written by me.

Consider this a ‘guest appearance’ by poet, comedian, and all-around super-person, Danielle K.L. Gregoire.

CONTEXT: March, 2012

I reached this poem… tucked into my book… and I asked Danielle permission to post it.

So, there was this surprise party… Danielle organized it with Ruthanne co-conspiring to keep it a secret. I went and was regaled with covers of my poems and pieces written FOR me.

The story behind that party is way bigger but I have already blogged about it, back at the time, so go and read that.

I’ll wait.

I used a lot of smiley faces in there. 🙂

Yeah, so this is the poem written and performed by Danielle that night. It is kind of a mini history lesson of our relationship and is just the kind of positivity that I could use right about now.

(I just remembered a funny bit when Danielle said the line about me becoming the treasurer. Lukayo called out, “Oh sure! Once you need him for something!” A good laugh was had.)

Take it away Danielle!

For Rusty
by Danielle K.L. Gregoire

I remember thinking
Of you, in 2006
As Ruthanne’s husband
A quiet, reticent man
With bright flowing beard
But not a potential friend

That all changed
When you agreed
To become treasurer
Of the CPC
We were thrown into
A swirling whirlpool
Of organizing poetry slams
Sink or swim
I wasn’t sure we would
Make it
Turns out you
Were more than
Just Ruthanne’s husband
(Aren’t we all more than we appear)
You were my
Orange kisby ring
You were poet
Writer
Gamer, music lover, book publisher
Full of solid, humble
Support
Full of deep thoughts
Raging concerns
Big hurts
But energetic joy
You spilled into my life
Copper coloured
Wind of change
Bringing your constant strength
Tempered with sensitivity
Without you there would be
No Capital Slam
No Lanark County Spoken Word
You never asked for thank yous
You and I shared stories
Travelled to Halifax
Have been teammates
Co-conspirators
Are best friends & Conundrum-ites
You are fairy godparent
To my daughter
Uncle to both my children
Sometimes I watch the weight
Of the world
Bearing down on you
But like Atlas, you bear it
I didn’t want to wait
To appreciate
All the things you do
The person that you are
Happy 44th, Rusty
You are still a rising star

Thanks Danielle. I love you too.

Comments
  1. I love you so much! I am so glad that something I wrote can be a source of happiness for you. I can’t believe I have been gone for nearly three years. I know you can make it through this. I know how strong you are. I wish I could be there.

Leave a Reply

