Respect

Posted: July 12, 2016 in Uncategorized

I haven’t posted a poem here in a while and when I open my book, I have unposted poems back more than 3 years old.

 

Time for a ‘new’ one.

 

Context – Feb, 2013

Well, there is a reason this poem has never been performed or posted, I guess. It was an idea I had that came across as a little… begging for attention. I didn’t mean it that way, but there it is.

Not one of my better pieces, but I still like to lay it out there, winners and losers.

 

Respect

R.E.S.P.E.C.T.
Let me tell you
What it means to me.
It is every win and trophy.
It is every cheer and slam team.
It is a way to live ‘pretend rich’
Like Sir Realist
Peeling off those dollar bills
And slapping them down.
Racing the rats
As the only score card
For success involves a
Dollar sign or Euros
But that’s a no go
As my life flow
Sticks the bank
On the down low.
I want cash,
But I need respect.

I don’t mean a street-smart
‘Respect-or-else’
Like I’m true blue Wu-Tang.
I may look more like
31 flavours than 36 chambers
But I still
Ain’t nothin’ to fuck with.

I need respect
Like a fish needs oxygen –
Filtered out of everything around me.

This isn’t a Tony Soprano
Kiss the ring sort of thing
And it isn’t a call to
Respect your elders,
Even though some days
I feel three generations removed
From my poetic peers.

I don’t claim my words
Are worthy of paens of praise
To be exalted as great literature
And the books of the ages,
Thought if you want to
Flip through my pages,
Trapeze Artist is available at the back
For only $15.

Respect is what you give
When you don’t have to.
It isn’t a high slam score
(Though I’d be happy with those too)
It is the sincere expression of thanks
For all that you do.

Respect can’t be cashed in
For a drink at the bar
Or bartered on the
‘You give me yours
And I’ll give you mine’
Festival circuit.

Respect is reminding you
Why we raise it.
It is haring this
Really great Recipe
That rocks to the Nth Degree.
Respect is knowing your alphabet
From MCE to DMP,
From DG and V.
Respect is saying
That your work has value
No matter what monetary
Level is assigned.

It is given freely or not at all
And it means more than
Any fat stack of mad cash
No matter how tall.

R.E.S.P.E.C.T.
The greatest gift
Anyone could ever hope to see
And it’s the reason
I can feel like a winner
No matter what
The coming scores
Will say about me.

Leave a Reply

