Drives Me Crazy

Posted: June 1, 2019 in Uncategorized

It has been a while since I made a poetry post… how about now?

May, 2014

I was given a poetry prompt by someone who I won’t call out here. The prompt was to write about ‘what drives you crazy’.
I am not cool with the use of language. I have certainly used those words in that way, and still do sometimes when I slip (hence the not calling out other people about it), but I am trying to be better.
The wording bothered me so I wrote a poem.

This is a found poem, with the main text coming from a medical site talking about contributing fact for mental illness. I made certain substitutions for every mention of mental illness.

DRIVES ME CRAZY

What Can Drive You Crazy

Possible Contributing Biological Factors

CRAZY sometimes run in families, suggesting that people who have a family member with CRAZY may be somewhat more likely to develop one themselves.

Certain infections have been linked to brain damage and the development of CRAZY or the worsening of its symptoms.

Defects in or injury to certain areas of the brain have also been linked to some CRAZY

Some evidence suggests that a disruption of early fetal brain development or trauma that occurs at the time of birth

Long-term substance abuse, in particular, has been linked to anxiety, depression, and paranoia. 

Poor nutrition and exposure to toxins, such as lead, may play a role in the development of CRAZY.

Possible Contributing Psychological Factors

Severe psychological trauma suffered as a child, such as emotional, physical, or sexual abuse

An important early loss, such as the loss of a parent

Neglect

Poor ability to relate to others

Possible Contributing Environmental Stressors

Death or divorce

A dysfunctional family life

Feelings of inadequacy, low self-esteem, anxiety, anger, or loneliness

Changing jobs or schools

Social or cultural expectations

Substance abuse by the person or the person’s parents

Leave a comment